WNBA Finals: Indiana Fever face the Minnesota Lynx

WNBA Finals: Indiana Fever face the Minnesota Lynx


On Tuesday night, September 29, the Indiana Fever defeated the New York Liberty and earned their ticket to the WNBA finals.

The Indiana Fever will be facing the Minnesota Lynx, who defeated the Phoenix Mercury in the Eastern Conference Finals earlier this week. This isn’t exactly shocking, as these two teams dominated the league from 2011-2013.

-In 2011, the champions were the Minnesota Lynx

-In 2012, the champions were the Indiana Fever

-In 2013, the champions were the Minnesota Lynx

The fever have a tough road ahead of them if they want to rise above their opponents. Before the season began, 8 out of 12 WNBA managers picked the Lynx to win the championship. The team has been on fire recently and Lynx’ star Maya Moore scored 40 points in their last game against Phoenix.

When we wrote our “WNBA Guide to the 2015 Season“, Minnesotta Lynx players were highlighted at every position. With Lindsay Whalen, Seimone Augustus, Maya Moore, Rebekkah Brunson and Sylvia Fowles all playing on one team, it’s very difficult to imagine anyone beating them.

Of course, the Indiana Fever’s forward Tamika Catchings is not to be underestimated. Along with Briann January and Shavonte Zellous, this squad can generate some serious offense. Whoever you’re rooting for, this should make for a very exciting matchup!

The WNBA Finals begin Sunday, October 4, at 3 PM. You can tune in to watch the game on ABC.


[Photo via WNBA.com]